Born in 1937 in Brussels.

Grandson of Corneil de Thoran, director of the Monnaie, and Emile Bosquet, pianist. He studied scenography at La Cambre.

Aged 21, he designed his first sets for the Monnaie (The Barber of Seville), where he would display his talents as a costume and sets designer for 20 years. Furthermore, he was a privileged partner of Maurice Béjart.

He realises both the costumes and the sets for most opera houses and theatres in Belgium and abroad, like for example in:

Lebanon: The festival of Baalbek
Italy: Palermo and Rome, La Scala in Milan
Germany: Munich, Cologne and Stuttgart
USA: San Francisco and New York
Canada: Toronto
France: Paris, Versailles, Lyon, Marseilles and Nantes
Russia: Saint Petersburg
Austria: Vienna and Innsbruck
Switzerland: Zurich and Geneva

Finally, he designed the costumes for the film L’allée du Roi by Nina Companeez and is now preparing the sets and costumes for the operas "Don Giovanni", "Louise" and The Merry Widow for the San Francisco opera. He is also working on several Belgian theatre productions.

Beside 200 sets and over 6000 costumes, Thierry Bosquet realised several frescos and decorations in Belgium, Italy, France and England. He realised 7 painting exhibitions and is now preparing an illustrated publication on the "vanished Versailles".

top

Né à Bruxelles en 1937.

Petit-fils de Corneille de Thoran, directeur du Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie, et de Emile Bosquet, pianiste.

Il étudie la scénographie à la Cambre.

À l'age de 21 ans, il fait son premier décor à la Monnaie (Le barbier de Séville), où il exercera ses talents pendant plus de 20 ans, tant pour les décors que les costumes, et comme un des collaborateurs privilégié de Maurice Béjart.

Parallèlement, il réalise décors et costumes dans la plupart des théâtres et opéras de Belgique ainsi qu' à l'étranger, dont entre autres :

Liban : Festival de Baalbek
Italie : Palerme, Rome, la Scala de Milan
Allemagne : Opéras de Munich, Cologne et Stuttgart
USA : San Francisco et New York
Canada : Toronto
France : Paris, Lyon, Marseille et Nantes
Russie : Saint Petersbourg
Autriche : Vienne et Innsbruck
Suisse : Genève et Zurich

Dernièrement il a réalisé les costumes du film "L'allée du Roi" de Nina Companèse, et prépare actuellement les décors et costumes des opéras "Don Juan" , "Louise" et "La Veuve Joyeuse" à l'opéra de San Francisco, ainsi que diverses autres productions pour des théâtres belges.

Outre quelque 200 décors et 6000 costumes, il a réalisé de nombreuses peintures murales et décorations privées en Belgique, Italie, France et Angleterre, il a fait 7 expositions de peintures et prépare actuellement une publication illustrée sur Versailles disparu.

top